Username:  Password: 
Login with Social Media Follow BBCRadioForum on Twitter

Author Topic:  Severance payments to Management and the effect on local radio  (Read 4888 times)

Rita

• View Profile
Copy of an e-mail sent to Lord Hall, re: a number of subjects including severance payments to Management and the effect on local radio:-
Wonder whether I will get an acknowledgement and/or answer to my queries.

Dear Lord Hall,
You will probably be aware that I have e-mailed you some time ago re: local radio and all that is happening there, especially at my local station, Radio Merseyside.  I have to say I have had no acknowledgement or response to my queries, and I only know you are aware of my e-mail via my MP, David Watts.
I am actually appalled at the massive severance payments made to various members of the "management" of the BBC, which in a time of restraint in the country, are obscene in the extreme, especially given the incompetence of some people, and it beggars belief that they seem to have been rewarded for it, or even worse, been given further employment by the Corporation.  If they had been employed by anyone else, they would have been suspended, often without pay, and if it involved the misappropriation of money, in all probability, if found guilty, they would have been sacked.
It makes me really angry to think that some of the vast amounts of money used for these pay-outs could have saved local radio from making any cuts to their budgets at all and enabled them to keep their programmes and presenters "local" without them being forced to broadcast a national show in the evenings for 3 hours, thus depriving them of listening to their favourite local presenters.